Jiri Trnka: Books made me

Some books are so part of you that they have crept into your DNA.

My first:

Han Christian Andersen’s Fairy Tales
Published by Paul Hamlyn
Illustrated by Jiri Trnka

I got this book for my second Christmas, so it has been around with me for a long, long time. It is now a dirty white, and the binding is nearly gone.

There are some grim little silhouettes:
IMG_4046

And it is quite funny to spot the occasional drawings by little me.
IMG_4029

But Trnka’s soft, smudgy, ethereal work are the star. There is something dark and mysterious and so Other about them.
IMG_4051
IMG_4010
IMG_4062IMG_3995
IMG_4044
IMG_4057

Leave a Reply

